Skip navigation

Planning Committee

The planning committee for the initiative includes representatives from all areas of the local food system.  During the spring of 2011, this committee worked to set the direction of the initiative, develop a framework and identify task force areas within the initiative. Members of this group are currently planning the Discovering Local Food Solutions event in September to engage the broader community.  

Planning Committee Members

Deb Haugen, Consultant, Fargo Cass Public Health
Kim Lipetzky, Fargo Cass Public Health
Gina Nolte, Clay County Public Health
Rita Ussatis, Cass County Extension Service
Sara VanOffelen, University of Minnesota Extension, Moorhead
Abby Gold, NDSU Extension Service and U of M Extension
Alice Swenson, Cass County Social Services
Blane Benedict, Farmer
Cammy Busta, Nash Finch Food Distributor
Clifford Hall, NDSU Department of Cereal and Food Sciences
Dean Hornbacher, Grocer
Deb Labor, Fargo Public Schools
Fowzia Adde, Immigrant Development Center
Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, NDSU Department of Plant Sciences
Hugh Dufner, Organic farmer
Janet Paul-Rice, Concordia College Food Service
Kathleen Pepple, NDSU Department of Landscape Architecture
Kim Wangler, West Fargo Parks and Recreation
Linda Sailer, Great Plains Food Bank
Lynn Brakke, Organic farmer, beef
Lynn Wolff, Dakota Resource Council
Mark Askegaard, Organic Farmer
Megan Ness, NDSU Extension Services
Julie Skow, MN State Health Improvement Plan (SHIP)
Noreen Thomas, Organic farmer
Randy Nelson, Clay County Extension Services
Rob Walsh, VCSU Communications Department
Trina Kalm, West Fargo Farmers Market
Vicki Roberts, Food Services of America
Rob Roberts, Bread Smith
Bill Hejl, Farmer
Ellen Lutgen, Concordia College